Castle - Smithy
Today\'s unnumbered building of the former royal smithy\'s forms a part of a row of agricultural and residential buildings. At the end of medieval times the buildings were constructed from the original castle walls on today\'s Ist Courtyard of Český Krumlov Castle.
The building is a walled two-floored structure with a widely overhanging roof on the right side with an extended outdoor space evidently reserved for shoeing horses. All of the interior spaces of the main building are barrel-vaulted with triagonal segments.
Historical building development :
In 1654 the builder Antonio Perti converted this brewery building into a smithy. From that time we have preserved information about the construction of three new chimneys and the vaulting of rooms. The windows of the smithy were also enlarged, and a new attic was built. From that time, the structure has undergone only minor changes. The overall appearance of the building still fits its original function and gives us a picturesque idea of the everyday life of castle life on its agricultural courtyard.
History of residents :
The house originally belonged to the brewery, and after its discontinuation was converted into a smithy in 1654. It served this purpose until the beginning of the 20th century. In 1943, there is documentation that the building was to be a flat for the estate\'s driver.
Contemporary use :
The building is presently unused.